Certified Professional of the Year


The ACSM Certified Professional of the Year is awarded to an outstanding ACSM Certified Professional to recognize their dedication and exceptional contributions towards enhancing the health and wellness of individuals in their community. 

Application Information


  • Active ACSM Health Fitness Certification and/or Clinical Certification: Certified Group Exercise Instructor (ACSM-GEI), Certified Personal Trainer (ACSM-CPT), Certified Exercise Physiologist (ACSM-EP), or Certified Clinical Exercise Physiologist (ACSM-CEP) 
  • Work at least 20 hours/week in exercise and well-being at time of application
  • At least five years of experience or two recertification cycles 

* Those with direct financial ties with ACSM or are active volunteers of the Summit Program Committee, ACSM Certification Board, ACSM CCRB Sub-Committees, or ACSM Board of Trustees are ineligible to apply. 

Awarded Benefits:

  • Up to $500 in travel assistance 

  • Complimentary 2021 ACSM International Health & Fitness Summit registration 

  • Acknowledgment on the ACSM website and in the ACSM's Health & Fitness Journal   

  • Complimentary 1-year ACSM Alliance Membership 

  • Beautiful glass award, award certificate and digital badge  

  • Press release sent to hundreds of media contacts 

  • Opportunity to serve as an ACSM media spokesperson and conference presenter 

  • And more… 

Winner of the 2022 Award:


Alexis Batrakoulis, Ph.D., ACSM-EP, ACSM-CPT, EIM-II

Involved in the health and fitness industry since 1995, Alexis is based in Larisa, Greece and currently works as an adjunct lecturer, personal trainer and fitness educator presenting in more than 40 countries across five continents. He is the founder of the International Obesity Exercise Training Institute, teaching internationally approved continuing education courses on exercise and health for fitness professionals around the globe. His primary research interest is the study of hybrid-type, multicomponent interval training in obesity. Read more here

Stay tuned for more information on applying for the 2023 award!